Love one another as I have loved you

1258078

“This is my commandment:  love one another as I have loved you”

This is surely one of the most powerful and most challenging lines in all of scripture.  Note that god does not say, “This is my suggestion.”  He does not say, “This is my recommendation.”  He does not say, “Here’s a pointer that I think will help you out.”  He says, “This is my commandment:  love one another.”

And he goes on to spell out just what kind of love he’s talking about.  He’s not talking about the kind of love you see in the movies or on the soap operas.  He’s talking about the kind of love he showed when he stretched out his arms on the cross and gave his life.  “Love one another as I have loved you.”

Love one another.  Care for one another.  Affirm one another.  Speak well of one another.  Avoid negative humor — humor at the expense of someone else.  Avoid sarcasm.  Avoid “put-downs.”

When you wake up each morning, say to yourself, “I’m going to be a person who speaks love, affirmation, and praise.  I’m going to build others up, not tear them down.  In this cold, impersonal world, I’m going to dare to be different.  I’m going to be someone who loves.”

There is tremendous power in this kind of love.  There is unspeakable joy in loving others, and in being loved by others, with this kind of love.

7 thoughts on “Love one another as I have loved you

    • I am agree with you Erika. You know doing something good for others or thinking good for them is really going to end. I don’t understand why people don’t realize the importance of others life. I must say we should keep following gods path for better society and world.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

